School District of West Salem Special Board Meeting Minutes October 29, 2024 Marie Heider Meeting Room – 6:00 p.m.

Convene

The meeting was called to order at 6:05 p.m. by President Catherine Griffin. The meeting was noticed to the Coulee Courier, La Crosse Tribune, WLSU Radio 89 FM, WXOW TV-19, WKBT-TV, WKTY, Union State Bank, First Community Credit Union, Village of West Salem, posted at each school, district website, and district office on October 24, 2024.

Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag

Cody Braun led everyone in the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance and Justin Jehn recited the District Mission Statement.

Roll Call

Present: Erik Peterson, Tom Grosskopf, Bob Gollnik, Catherine Griffin, Caitlin Wilson, and Sean Gavaghan. Also in attendance – Administration: Ryan Rieber, Justin Jehn and Cody Braun; Recording secretary: Patrick Bahr. Excused: Bob Minard

Approval of Agenda

S. Gavaghan moved, E. Peterson seconded to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

Closed Session

C. Griffin welcomed the motion for closed session: Closed session, under exemption provided for in WI Statutes 19.85(1)(a) Deliberating concerning a case which was the subject of any judicial or quasi-judicial trial or hearing before that governmental body; and pursuant to WI Statutes 19.85(1)(f) Considering financial, medical, social or personal histories or disciplinary data of specific persons, preliminary consideration of specific personnel problems or the investigation of charges against specific persons except where par. (b) applies which, if discussed in public, would be likely to have a substantial adverse effect upon the reputation of any person referred to in such histories or data, or involved in such problems or investigations; and pursuant to Wis. Stat. S. 120.13(1)(c) to discuss, consider and take action, if appropriate, regarding recommendation for pupil(s) expulsion and to review and discuss confidential pupil(s) records under 118.125.

S. Gavaghan moved, C. Wilson seconded that the Board convene in closed session at 6:07 p.m. A roll call vote was taken: C. Wilson, Aye; S. Gavaghan, Aye; E. Peterson, Aye; B. Gollnik, Aye; C. Griffin, Aye; and T. Grosskopf, Aye. Motion carried unanimously.

Closed Session

Adjournment

E. Peterson moved, T. Grosskopf seconded to adjourn at 8:32 p.m. Motion carried unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Erik Peterson, Clerk